Author Topic: Getting started - little experience  (Read 2976 times)

PeachFuzzStacher

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Getting started - little experience
« on: August 14, 2013, 09:01:36 AM »
Hey everyone,
I'm really impressed with some of the projects I've been lurking around and seeing.  I have recently just joined the ranks of the negative net worth with some property control (home "owner").  I'd really like to start making some improvements, but am unsure how to get started or what are some easy projects to build up skills with.  I honestly am terrible at this stuff, simply because I have no experience in it.

I was thinking of starting off by building a shed.  Would it be worth it, or should I just go for the Costco plastic 8x10?  I work 9-6, so pretty much am stuck to the weekends.  Any particular tools that you find you use over and over again?  I currently have a nice drill (Milwaukee), hammer.  I guess some kind of saw?

These future projects are much more complicated, so I'd be curious what I could do in between to get some more chops together while I save up money for materials and possible help labor.

Other projects eventually planned -
1) Expand driveway via retaining wall - i live on a large rocky hill in Morris County, NJ
2) Add a garage with carriage house for rentals

Greg

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Getting started - little experience
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2013, 09:27:47 AM »
Kudos for wanting to start learning.

A plastic shed will only last so long and then you can't repair it.  And, it's plastic.  Build it with wood etc. and you can fix it, build it how you want, and at the end of it's life it can be used as fuel or composted.

Hammer yes, small nail puller, nail set set, utility knife, speed square, $4 tape measure with scratch-pad stuck to the side (can be moved to next one).  2' level.  Folding sawhorses.