Author Topic: Garage Shelving  (Read 13444 times)

NextTime

• Pencil Stache
Garage Shelving
« on: May 09, 2017, 12:05:43 PM »
Moving in a few weeks and am just preparing my summer to do list.  The garage will need some shelving and I've so far convinced myself to DIY some 2 x 4 shelving. I figure this is the best bet for getting the exact dimensions for current storage needs.

Plan on using a framing nailer I bought for a previous project rather than screws.

Most plans seem to use OSB or plywood for the actual shelf. Is there something stronger that can take more weight.

Anybody have a better ideas/alternatives?  Or potential issues with using nails rather than screws (besides ease of taking them apart.

I'm a novice DIYer so any advice I get can be helpful.

Jon Bon

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Garage Shelving
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2017, 12:14:36 PM »
2x4s and plywood is a great way to make some awesome shelves. I have installed these at every house I live in. I have the big box store rip the plywood into 16 inch sheets, so you get 3 shelves per sheet of plywood. Then I just put it all together with my nailgun. You can also buy a pack of 2x2s to use in places to save a few bucks and gain a few inches depending on design.

What um, are you planning on putting on these? 2x4s and plywood is very strong, just think its what your entire house is built on. If you want stronger just add more 2x4s.

lthenderson

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2017, 12:16:12 PM »