Author Topic: electric panel upgrade from 60 amp to 100 amp  (Read 4148 times)

do57

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
electric panel upgrade from 60 amp to 100 amp
« on: May 18, 2017, 07:43:59 PM »
I recently purchased a 1971 mobile home with a 60 amp circuit breaker service. I would like to install a 100 amp circuit breaker panel before having the power turned on. I have changed panels before, fuse to circuit breaker, but they were the same amperage. Is this okay to do and should I alert the power company before having power tuned on?

Spork

• Walrus Stache
    • Spork In The Eye
Re: electric panel upgrade from 60 amp to 100 amp
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2017, 07:47:12 AM »
I am NOT an electrician.  But I would absolutely talk to the power company.

You could probably ballpark it by looking at the size of the wire incoming and going to the googles... but I'd still call. 

Does your power terminate at the mobile home?  Or does it terminate on a pole outside with a wire running to an interior panel?  If it is the former, you're likely to need to re-run the pole-to-panel run yourself.  (I've normally seen mobile homes with a meter on a pole next to the home instead of bolted straight to the house.)

And if I were going to that much trouble.... I might go ahead and upgrade to 200amp.

ncornilsen

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2017, 09:55:29 AM »
Confirm the size of the conductors feeding this panel are rated for 100 amps.

does this mobile have aluminum wire? If so... well, google how to deal with that.

paddedhat

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2017, 04:50:34 PM »
Lots of issues here. If I imagine running into this situation in my local area, these are the issues I would probably encounter. OTOH, you might have the same, or totally different issues completing this work.