Author Topic: Built daughter "new" bed from recycled furniture.  (Read 4136 times)

Longwaytogo

Built daughter "new" bed from recycled furniture.
« on: December 26, 2015, 02:09:49 PM »
So I built my youngest her "big girl bed" that I have been promising her for a few months. Only instead of starting with a pile of lumber and building it in my Dad's shop I started with her existing furniture and carried our portable table saw up into her bedroom.

The room is pretty small and I wanted to leave a decent amount of floor space for them to play. So I envisioned sort of a bed/storage combo but did not want it to get too tall since she's only 3 and pretty short. She's never really fallen out of bed or anything just did not want to do the ladder/rail captains bed type thing.

Anyway, whole thing cost me like $10 for some hinges I bought for the "toy box" part and I fell like it turned out pretty good. Daughter defintley loves it, she played in her room all day when I finished it and could not wait to show her cousins and grandparents on Christmas Eve.

Here is the before pictures of the furniture I started with. A basic 3 drawer dresser, a similar sized piece with 1 drawer and 2 shelves, a changing table with one shelf and a sliding door, and a crib.

Longwaytogo

Re: Built daughter "new" bed from recycled furniture.
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2015, 02:16:45 PM »
So here will be the finished product. Pictures look pretty dark as it was sunny when I took the before and cloudy today when I took the afters. It looks a little better when you click on them, thumbnails look really dark.

I re-used the 3 drawer unit basically intact and built everything else around it. The section behind it I turned into a toy box (reusing the sliding door from the changing table as the lid) type area and a little table for her lamp which I drilled a hole in to run cord.