Author Topic: Bees swarming - pollenating or looking to start a hive?  (Read 810 times)

jeromedawg

• Walrus Stache
Bees swarming - pollenating or looking to start a hive?
« on: November 03, 2021, 12:49:57 PM »
Our next door neighbor pointed out that there are bees hovering around some palm trees in front of our properties. The palm trees appear to have white shoots/branches coming off of them which I think might be the palm seeds or nuts? The bees are hovering around them possibly for the nectar but we're not sure if they might be trying to build a hive.

Anyone know if this is just a temporary thing or is it a bigger cause of concern? Should we have pest control out to deal with them?

Sibley

• Walrus Stache
Re: Bees swarming - pollenating or looking to start a hive?
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2021, 01:57:13 PM »
I'm no expert in bees, but I do think they swarm when they're establishing a new hive. I would call a beekeeper. I'm sure there's someone in your region. Either they can come get the bees, or they can tell you who to call/what to do.

But don't kill bees just because they're inconvenient.

RetiredAt63

• CMTO 2023 Attendees
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2021, 02:51:40 PM »
Bees swarming will make a big elongated ball in a tree, because they are clustering around their queen.   If you google "bee swarm" images you will see this big cluster. Swarming bees would only be flying around in a loose cluster if their queen had not yet landed someplace for them to gather around her. And you would know they were swarming, because an hour later they would be in the cluster.

If there are just lots of them flying around in one area, they are most likely after the pollen/nectar.   When the flowers run out of nectar/pollen, the bees will leave.  I have seen lilac bushes covered in bumble bees, an hour later there were no bees.