Author Topic: A clever use for an IP camera  (Read 6796 times)

the fixer

• Handlebar Stache
A clever use for an IP camera
« on: June 07, 2017, 04:47:36 PM »
This might be a bit too clever, we'll see...

I'm considering the feasibility of using an IP camera in a rental property I own to remotely read a couple meters that would be in a dark supply closet. I have no experience with IP cameras, though, and they do not appear to be designed for this application, so I do not know if this could really work.

Would a remotely-accessible camera like this work in that environment? Would the picture be clear enough to read an analog odometer? Would the IR lighting be enough, or would I need a model to which I can connect and remote-control an external light? Can they focus at distances of a foot or so?

I'd like the system to be at least somewhat reliable, while recognizing that if it fails I can just go to the property, read the meter directly, and fix the issue. The remote-reading apparatus meant to be used with these things costs at least $700, plus a monthly service fee for it not to need a tenant's WiFi, so if I can design my own quick-and-dirty, works-most-of-the-time equivalent for 1/10 of that price I'd be ecstatic.

BDWW

• Pencil Stache
Re: A clever use for an IP camera
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2017, 05:01:19 PM »
I don't see why not, the IR lights should be plenty bright if it's close enough. The ones I've used to a pretty good job at lighting things up close, and only marginal at distance. It will be in black and white if it's in the dark.

The one downside I see, is that you will be using the tenants wifi/ethernet, and you'll have to configure your/their router to allow outside access to the camera IP. This may be a cake and easily secured - depending on the router/camera software - or it might mean opening up the camera to the entire world (maybe or maybe not a concern).
« Last Edit: June 07, 2017, 05:03:44 PM by BDWW »

sokoloff

• Handlebar Stache