Author Topic: 110 current  (Read 3419 times)

luigi49

• Bristles
110 current
« on: September 14, 2016, 12:06:08 AM »
I have an outlet that my dishwasher is plugged in as well as my disposer.  My dishwasher stopped today so I measured the voltage thats coming out of the outlet and it measured 10 volt.  Should I reset the breaker switch?  What causes this to happen?  If its the breaker switch, shouldn't it be 0 current coming out of the outlet?

Spork

• Walrus Stache
    • Spork In The Eye
Re: 110 current
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2016, 07:29:47 AM »
I AM NOT AN ELECTRICIAN!

Ok, that's out of the way.  Yes, that's messed up.  Resetting the breaker sure can't hurt.

I would want to check the tightness of connections -- for example at the panel, the receptacle and any connections between.  You might also measure voltage without the receptacle in there (i.e., voltmeter on the bare wires) to make sure the receptacle is good.  Then I'd try to trace the circuit back and identify all the devices on it... and check each of those devices and connections.

Seeing as this is a kitchen/wet area, there is also likely a GFI involved somewhere... These do go bad... so check the voltage on the line and load side of the GFI if you find one.

The dishwasher/disposer are likely on 2 different circuits (with the little tab on the receptacle snipped).  Make sure you're cutting the right circuit(s) at the panel!  Make sure both of those circuits are dead before you start pulling stuff apart.

luigi49

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2016, 08:47:48 AM »
Thanks its working again.  There is a ghost in that line i think.

topshot

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2016, 08:05:38 PM »