Author Topic: Responding to complainy pants people  (Read 8673 times)

mom2_3Hs

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Responding to complainy pants people
« on: January 22, 2014, 08:52:59 PM »
I am a college professor, so I can't face punch them like I would like to.  Bu I would like to teach my students how to be non-complainy pants when dealing with a problem.  So I'm looking for suggestions.

Today's episode is brought to you by Martin Luther King Day.  I teach a lecture for 5 different discussion sections of 28 students (so a total of 140 students).  3 of the 5 sections are on M.  It gets better, classes started on a Wednesday, so the monday sections are already behind.  Consequently, I designed a computer activity they could do at home.  They did the same activity as the W and F sections, though W and F did it in the computer lab.

Student X in M section turns complainy pants.  Now there are a number of ways he could have expressed his disgruntledness, but his was particularly whiny.  There are ways to say, "I'm having a hard time with this.  Could you help me or give me more time?" instead of "this is a stupid assignment and it's not fair that I have to do it."  What's my role re: coaching him on living a non-complain-y pants life?  this is the second thing he's gone complainy on.

SwordGuy

• Walrus Stache
Re: Responding to complainy pants people
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2014, 09:24:43 PM »
I am a college professor, so I can't face punch them like I would like to.  Bu I would like to teach my students how to be non-complainy pants when dealing with a problem.  So I'm looking for suggestions.