Author Topic: Is Overpopulation Really A Problem?  (Read 107081 times)

Aloysius_Poutine

• Stubble
Is Overpopulation Really A Problem?
« on: November 29, 2013, 08:09:44 PM »
I'm not convinced. According to this website the entire population of earth could fit into Texas with 1100 sq ft per person, and we already grow 10x more potatoes than is necessary to feed everyone on earth.

I did a geography degree at a liberal arts college, so I'm pretty well aware of the arguments. But I still don't find them convincing. In fact, I don't think overpopulation is a problem at all. I'm more concerned about the trend of birth rates getting dangerously below that 2.1 rate at which populations remain stable.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Is Overpopulation Really A Problem?
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2013, 08:16:24 PM »
If we planned and did it wisely, no, maybe not.

The way we're doing it, yes.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

MoneyCat

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2013, 09:28:14 PM »
Overpopulation is not a problem.  The Earth could easily sustain a human population of 100 billion without negative effects on the environment.  The problem is not population.  It's wealth.  Wealth is controlled by a very tiny percentage of the population and many people starve to death because they do not have necessities like food, warm clothing, and shelter because they cannot afford them.  According to Social Darwinists (aka Objectivists), these people should just die because they are being outcompeted.  According to others, the "competition" has become barbaric and it's a relic of our primitive past as a species.