Author Topic: Travel nurse to semi-retirement advice needed  (Read 1198 times)

advRN

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Travel nurse to semi-retirement advice needed
« on: May 09, 2020, 12:18:32 AM »
Hey everyone! First post here...looking for some advice/optimization.

I'm a 27 year old travel nurse who just discovered FI/RE a few months ago. I started investing 5 years ago when a parent passed away and I received a six figure inheritance. I invested the majority of it over a year period into dividend growth stocks. I know this is not a popular strategy in this community, however, it is my preferred strategy. I enjoy researching companies and being part owner. I also index in my 401k though. I'm single. As a travel nurse, my tax residence is in Ohio but I work all over the country.

Gross Salary/Wages:
This is a bit hard to predict due to the nature of my job. I typically work 44-48 weeks per year. My take home pay also varies by location. I generally take home $1,400-1,900/week. The majority of my income (usually ~$1,100 or more per week) is paid as a tax free per diem stipend. The per diem stipend is cost of living dependent. I would get a much higher stipend working in California versus Ohio etc etc. I have been in lower tax brackets due to the majority of my income coming from this tax free stipend over the last couple years. I also have taken several months off each year to adventure. I've been in the 12/15% bracket the past couple years. Very important for my qualified dividends.

Individual amounts of each Pre-tax deductions 401k, HSA, FSA, IRA, insurance, etc.:
I just now started contributing 86% of my gross income to a 401k. My company matches 50% up to the 6%. If I keep this up I will max out my 401k before years end. I have maxed out my Roth IRA for the past 5 years. I plan to max out my Roth IRA as long as I can. I also have an inherited Roth IRA.