Author Topic: Reader Case Study – next steps? Will we ever be FI? Can Hubs RE?  (Read 3146 times)

raybop

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Topic Title: Reader Case Study – next steps in this process?  Will we ever be FI? Can Hubs RE?

First, a little about our values and goals:

We’ve always been financially frugal.  No debt ever, except mortgage.  We have smallish, reasonable cars and house.  We have a mindset of minimalism, without the extreme lifestyle that goes with it.
I want to be FI, I don’t want to RE.  (I’m a teacher and I love my job.  Also, I’m counting on the pension…) Hubby would like to RE, he hates his work and has never been satisfied in any job ever. (But his mental health necessitates that he involves himself in some endeavor outside the home.  And he’s not self-motivated or a visionary, so RE might not be the best thing for him either)
We want to use our money, time, and resources for the good of others.  So our real goals are: minimize expenses, maximize earnings without compromising family time, contribute to investments that will afford us a comfortable lifestyle where we can invest our time, energy, money in others, fund kid’s college (though grandparents have said they would cover this expense, but who knows?)

Second, a little about our situation:

We’re recovering from a huge health setback that has consumed our life energy for the past 12 years.  Due to the support of family, we are not financially ruined, but we’ve not been able to “get ahead” in the past 12 years…I’ve been a SAHM who has just recently gone back to work teaching part time and my husband is in a job that takes care of our needs.  If he were to change jobs/profession, he could expect a 30-40% pay cut.

Finally, the financial break down:

Life Situation: Married, filing jointly, Hubs is 43, I am 40, two kids aged 11 and 9, we live in California, pretty HCOL

Gross Salary/Wages:  Hubby makes 72K/ year