Author Topic: Reader Case Study: Debt Free, now to Invest!  (Read 2521 times)

stereomaster423

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Reader Case Study: Debt Free, now to Invest!
« on: February 18, 2020, 08:13:12 AM »
Life Situation - 37/Male, Single, 114K Gross income, HCOL area in Boston. In the process of refinancing 261K mortgage on a 30 year 3.375% rate. (Current value is $380K). No other debt besides $4,950 student loan debt at 4.410% v (paying back $200/mo)
$24,000 in savings

Just started contributing to retirement again after pausing to get debt free...
$500 / month Roth IRA ($4,700 balance in VOO)
4% 403b with 4% company match ($4,000 balance in Vanguard Index funds)
Fidelity Rollover IRA balance $27,350 (FXAIX)

My Question:
I want to begin investing my Roth IRA account into VTSAX, but when I attempt to buy these ETFs, Vanguard site directs me to create a new account?
I'm very new to this selecting the funds to buy, but it seems that I should be able to use my Roth IRA funds to buy VTSAX... is it because I don't have $10,000 available in cash? (I only have like $100 until my next contribution hits at the end of this month). I'm just noticing that the returns are a little bit better than the VOO funds I'm invested in right now.

Let me know if you need additional info, or if I'm missing something here...

Thanks!!

fell-like-rain

• Stubble
Re: Reader Case Study: Debt Free, now to Invest!
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2020, 03:23:32 PM »
Your Roth IRA is in an account at Vanguard, I’m assuming? The minimum to invest in VTSAX is $3k, so as long as you’re trying to buy at least that amount, there shouldn’t be an issue. Unless you’re looking for VTSAX as an ETF ticker? VTSAX is a mutual fund, the ETF version is VTI, so I’d just make sure you’re picking the one you want.