Author Topic: Reader Case Study – Confused about Investment Order considering Early Retirement  (Read 2871 times)

Amari

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hello there-- first-time poster, but I’ve been lurking quietly on the forum for about a week now, and reading MMM obsessively for the past month. I am a recent college graduate, BSBA May 2016, and started my full-time job in October 2016. I was very amused and inspired to find the Mustachian/FIRE community; I did not know this lifestyle existed but I definitely had a little bit of this mentality in me all along, just now I am a full on, committed, convert.

Based on some rough calculations from MMM resources, I believe I can reach FI within 11 years. I was hoping to get some additional advice and guidance on things I can do better with regards to spending and investing.

Life Situation: Single, 22, 0 dependents, live and work in Northern NJ/Greater NYC HCOL area

Gross Salary/Wages: Pre-tax annual 57,000

(The following is based on a bi-weekly payroll statement from 3/3)
Current Pre-tax deductions: 18 (health, dental, vision insurance)
Taxable Earnings: 2,178
Tax Deductions: 531 (Federal and state)
Other Deductions: 193 (Roth 401k + Loan Advance 0% Interest)
Net take-home: 1,454

Current Expenses:*
Rent – 800
Utilities/Internet – 75
Fuel – 100
Groceries – 125
Tithe – 200
Miscellaneous – 100

Monthly budget total – 1,400

Assets:*
Betterment Roth IRA – 18,100 (Allocation 90% stocks/10% bonds)
Vanguard Roth 401k – 1,100 (Targeted 20XX Retirement Index)
Savings/Checking – 2,500

Car* – KBB of 2,500 (fully paid)

Liabilities:*
Student Loans – 0
Credit Cards – Paid full every month

Summary:*
Current net worth: 20,300
Additional Savings/Investments FY 2017: 17,000 (Estimated for remainder of year)
Estimated net worth FY 2017: 37,300
Savings rate: 60%

Additional Comments:
(I ramble in this whole section, please feel free to skip to questions)