Author Topic: ***UPDATE*** Paying off all my debts but the house? Now what?  (Read 4925 times)

AardvarkPuppies

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hey everyone!  Long time MMM reader and lurker but first time posting.  I would love to get some feedback from like minded individuals to see if I'm missing anything. I am currently on paternity leave and figure this was a good time to finally post.

Life Situation: I am 33 and wife is 36.  We have two children ages 5 and 1 month.  I work as a firefighter and my wife has stayed at home since she first became a mother.  Currently live in Missouri.  We are a little bit unique in that I absolutely love my job and I do not wish to retire early and I have an excellent pension.

Gross Salary/Wages: Base salary is 67k.  I have historically worked significant amounts of overtime and last year I had my best year at making 100k while still having good work/life balance.  My oldest will be starting Kindergarten this fall and we have discussed me not working overtime on the weekends any longer to have quality time with the kids with the oldest being in school M-F.  I am not sure how much this will ultimately affect my salary but I think I should still be able to gross 85k-90k fairly easily.

Pre-tax deductions
     Health and dental insurance:  $4612
     HSA - $5900 + $1200 employer contribution = $7100
     Pension contribution - 4% - $3566

Adjusted Gross Income: Estimated AGI for estimated income this year is $74450

Annual Taxes:
     Federal: $1563
     State:  $1040
     FICA: $4873
     Medicare: $1140

Current Monthly expenses:

Mortgage P&I: $1415
     PMI: $80
     Property taxes: $451
     Homeowner's Insurnace: $80
     HOA: $42
     Utilities (Natural Gas, Electric, Water and Sewer): $250
     Cell Phones x 2: $50
     Internet: $33
     Disney Plus: $13
     Auto Insurance: $49
     Auto Maintenence, Tags, Taxes: $71
     Fuel: $125
     Diapers: $60
     Gym Membership: $42
     Union Dues: $93
     Groceries: $650