Author Topic: On Track for Military FIRE?  (Read 12099 times)

mgnhrvth

• Stubble
On Track for Military FIRE?
« on: June 20, 2019, 06:14:03 PM »
Thank you for taking time to weigh-in!

I am trying to shape my short and mid-term financial goals - a few moving pieces for 2019/2020 are detailed below. Please pick apart my current situation, goals etc apart - looking for great advice and discussion from the MMM collective!

Current Situation: Active Duty O4 with 11 years of service; mid-30’s

Annual Income for 2019: $87,000
Projected Annual Income for 2020: $90,000
(NOTE: I am deployed in a CZTE area so July 2018 – July 2020 pay is tax-exempt)
I am a resident of WA State (no state income tax) and have no dependents.

ASSETS
Cash: $15,000
Roth IRA: $92,500 (Vanguard)
Roth/Traditional TSP: $195,000 (currently contributing 22% of pay)
(NOTE: I opted into BRS in JAN 2018 so receive full matching into Traditional TSP of approx. $4,340 per year)
Investments: $20,000 (Vanguard Index Funds)
Savings Deposit Program (SDP): $10,000
https://militarypay.defense.gov/Benefits/Savings-Deposit-Program/
TOTAL: $332,500

LIABILITIES:
Mortgage: $322,000
Bought in JAN 2013 for $360,000 @ 3% VA home loan (currently a break-even rental in Oahu)
Current Zillow value: $579,000
TOTAL: $322,000

2019 Goals:
Max Roth TSP – on track
Max Roth IRA – DONE, did a lump sum in JAN19
Negotiate orders for 2020
Contribute $5K to my Vanguard Index Funds

2020 Goals:
BRS mid-career bonus decision, tax implications, obligated service etc
https://militarypay.defense.gov/Portals/3/Documents/BlendedRetirementDocuments/Fact%20Sheet-Continuation%20Pay.pdf
Max Roth TSP
Max Roth IRA (I plan to do a lump sum on 1 JAN 2020)
Contribute $10K to my Vanguard Index Funds

Long Term Decision: Remain Active Duty in the military for 20 years (retire in 2028)

No specific questions - looking for gut checks or recommendations for adjustments in saving/investing/planning.