Author Topic: New Mustachian case study (4 year update)  (Read 11544 times)

goosefraba1

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
New Mustachian case study (4 year update)
« on: January 10, 2016, 08:31:58 PM »
Hello all,

I have been lurking here for a few weeks... and i would like to throw my hat in the ring. My wife and i are excited to start saving up for financial independence. We will be meeting with a financial consultant next month. I am a 28yo physician assistant working at my hometown hospital... recently got into my dream job in orthopedic surgery. My wife is a 29yo ccupational therapy assistant. We are about to make an offer on what very well could be a forever home. Lets go through our financials...

My current salary in occupational medicine: 89k/yr with up to 20% in bonuses (bonus was 14k this year).
My new contract with surgery: 119k/yr with up to 20% in bonuses. After 1 year, i will switch to an RVU system. Basically, if i meet my 75% of my numbers (300 rvus per month... get more in surgery), i keep my salary. Anything over that goes towards my bonus. The other two PAs in this practice regulalrly bring in 40-60k in bonuses on top of the 119k/yr salary.

My wife's salary: about 55k/yr.

So, I am guessing that we cleared about 160k this year together. We should clear about 190-200k next year, and closer to 220k to 240k there after.