Author Topic: Just Had 1st Kid...Start Kids Savings? Payoff Car? Save for Future House??  (Read 1699 times)

pbear16

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hi Everyone,

I am new to the MMM community, but my brother is a big fan so I figured it would be good for me to join. Currently I am at a time where I am trying to figure out what the next move is for my young family’s finances.

Life Situation – Married filing jointly. My wife and I are both 26. We welcomed our 1st child back in January, so our child is now 2 months old. I am a civil engineer working for an engineering consulting firm and my wife is a teacher. We live in an apartment in Northeastern Kentucky.

Goals:
- Figure out what the best financial move is for our family moving forward.
- Find ways to be more cost effective as a family.
- Make financial decisions that will help us prepare for the future.

Gross Salaries:
Wife - $37K – 2nd year of teaching, but salary will increase to $42K next year because of some completed Masters courses.
Me - $76K – 4th year working for engineering consulting firm.

Monthly Expenses:
Rent - $945 (some utilities included)
Electric - $120
Cable & Wifi - $154
Cellphone - $160
Car Payment - $260 (2017 Honda CR-V; $14,097 financed; total of $15,500 will be paid over 60 payments)
Car Insurance - $75 (currently pay in two amounts every 6 months)
Gas for Cars - $100
Food - $500
Entertainment/Miscellaneous - $200
Dog - $70
Daycare - $400 (currently not using, but will start in mid-April)
Total – approximately $3,000

Assets:
HSA - $70 (just finished paying for child birth expenses; approximately $70 taken from bi-weekly paycheck)
Checking - $2,774.77 (used for paying bills)
Savings - $2,169.67 (small emergency fund for easy access)
Ally Online Savings - $13,339.11
401K - $28,566.38 (6% of bi-weekly paycheck to Traditional IRA, 6% of bi-weekly paycheck to Roth IRA)
Cars – approximately $26,000 (2008 Honda Accord-paid-off; 2017 Honda CR-V paying monthly)
Total (excluding cars) - $46,909.93