Author Topic: Join the Military OR Go to College (teen case study)  (Read 12180 times)

CCGStache_01

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Join the Military OR Go to College (teen case study)
« on: April 12, 2017, 08:14:34 PM »

College Life or Military Life?

That is the question I've recently begun asking myself, as college is approaching in 2 years, and for me, the cheapest it would be, without scholarships and/or grants, would be about $240,000! (this figure includes food, travel, rent, personal spending, tuition, and one other cost I will get too later.

Life Situation: I am a sophomore in high school, and I don't currently have a job, and thus not taxes, but no income either.

I currently (as of Jan. 2017), have about $4,000 saved in a standard savings account, so I don't expect massive capital gains. Every month $50 is automatically deposited into the bank from my grandfather, and I don't pull any money from it. I will be getting a job within the coming months, and I will have put at least $15,000 more dollars into it by the time college starts.

I have a small, somewhat decent gas mileage car, (1988 Suzuki Samurai) with no payments, and liability only insurance (will be covered by my parents throughout college), and a brand new, multi-use bike (in-city and mountain hybrid). I will have these throughout college, and afterwards too.

After college, or when I get my own apartment or home, I will have furnishings for it from my current house (bed, desk, nightstand, drawer, TV & PS2 (no cable), small laptop, and desktop computer.
The computer I use for some YouTube side work to gain some small income while also doing something I enjoy (creating content).

Current expenses:

Gas: $40/ month
Movies, etc. (money spent hanging out with friends): $100/month

Assets:

At time of college starting these will be my current assets (this will be updated if things change, such as acquiring stock)
  • Car: can be sold for at least $5,000 in case of emergency