Author Topic: Is my math right - may buy an expensive car  (Read 14999 times)

brian313313

• Stubble
Is my math right - may buy an expensive car
« on: November 07, 2017, 11:48:32 AM »
Hi,

So I've been saving at a great rate for about 10 years. I have an Equity spreadsheet and I'm pretty close to where I could FIRE. I don't have that type of personality though. I only feel like retiring when I'm burnt out and have generally worked for about 10 months/year. I recently decided to lower my savings rate because my wife & I don't have anyone to leave money to. We've assigned a charity for after we both die and bills have been paid for. So I starting thinking about what's most important to me that would make it interesting to spend some extra money on. I used to be a car fanatic but decided that it was too expensive. Well, I think I can afford it now. I am plugging numbers into my spreadsheet and I'm sort of blown away by how little effect it seems to have. Is there something wrong with my math here? The way I account for debt is put it as a negative equity against my cash assets. That gives me the effect of 8% interest although I'd be borrowing the money as long as it's so cheap.

Cash Flow
Income - $10,000/mo after tax. This is non-taxed 401k contributions + take home pay.
Bills - $2500/mo - This includes a small amount of frivolous stuff but things we don't give up when I'm not working.
Additional spending - $1000/mo - This is more frivolous stuff that goes away when I'm not working. Every Jan & Feb we scale back to the "Bills" section only to readjust and see how much we really "need" to live.

Assets
401k - $500,000
Paid for condo - $200,000