Author Topic: How much longer do I have to work in tech?  (Read 21845 times)

determinedcat

• Stubble
    • Journal
How much longer do I have to work in tech?
« on: March 04, 2020, 08:04:04 AM »
I've been a Bay Area software engineer for the last 7 years. I love coding, but I'm tired of office politics and unrealistic deadlines. I aspire to pursue a more creative career. For as long as I can remember, I've wanted to be a writer. (Cliche, but true.) I'm also pregnant with my first child. I'm better off than most, but I can't be happy if my whole life is tech + children; I need something more.

Lots of changes on the way. My employer, where I’ve worked for 5 years, is being acquired. If the government approves the deal, I'll be a millionaire at 38. The deal is expected to close in the next 6-9 months. Our child is due in August. When he’s born, I plan to max out my maternity leave -- 3 months fully paid, 3.5 months partly paid.

I’m married to another engineer who’s perfectly happy to work in tech the rest of his life. He’s had a great job for the last 5 years, but his project just got cancelled. His current employer (BigCo) will pay him full wages & benefits until December to wrap up his current project and “transition” to another project. This includes 3 months of paternity leave :)  He’s not interested in staying at BigCo and will likely join a smaller startup that can only pay half his current salary.

And now for the numbers! My husband isn’t interested in FIRE and we haven’t truly combined our finances, so I’ll focus on my own numbers for now.

Life Situation: Married (37F/40M) with a little baby (-0.5M) on the way! :) We live in Oakland, California.

Salary/Wages in 2020:
Me: 206k (+600k if the merger goes through)
My husband: 300k

Assets:
- Cash: 17,233
- Taxable Brokerage: 269,523
- 401(k): 138,414
- Rollover IRA: 147,952
- Roth IRA: 86,689
- 529: 7,556
My total net worth: 670,191
Husband’s net worth: ~900,000