Author Topic: Have a baby on my own or aggressively pay off student loans... or both?  (Read 16871 times)

zz_marcello

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Have a baby on my own or aggressively pay off student loans... or both?
« Reply #50 on: March 14, 2018, 10:06:53 AM »
45 year old father of two kids here. Wife is a scientist and Im a MegaCorp Manager. Ex US Norhern Virginia expat. Currently living in Germany again and closing in on the second million in $ net worth due to being mustachians all our life before knowing that this word even exists.

The reason why people are giving you their honest opinion is because by having a child on your own you will be the first time in your life not only be responsible for yourself but for another human being! The life of this human being will be influenced in a major way by the way you can provide for him.

Being age 40 and ~$75k in the hole and at the same time speaking about how above average you are regarding looks and making calculations about child care cost and the amount of work and energy it involves to raise a child on your own that are honestly delusional - People are just worried what will happen to your child if reality sets in.

Ten years ago before our daughter was born, we thought we will be the coolest parents on the planet.
Still going to parties, enjoying life like before and handling everything very easily. My wife was modeling as a side gig even in her first few month of pregnancy and I also never had problems finding a partner (just because you seem to rate people by appearance).

I can only tell you that the moment our first child was born it was like a high speed train hitting us full speed!
Our old life was gone.
Seven hours of sleep didn´t happen any more per night for us but sometimes only in a whole week. Shouting, vomiting milk from the baby and nearly zero social contacts for us in the first year after enyoing life/friends/travel in the decade before.

And this day after day - week after week!