Author Topic: Family of four- we can retire...but should we? is it really happening?  (Read 3722 times)

Loripedi

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Life Situation:  Husband just retired from the military and our financial situation has changed a lot.  We are a Family of four. Husband 39, wife 42, son 12, daughter 10.  Live in San Antonio, TX.  Married filing jointly

Salary: Wife- Gov't employee $53k , Husband $115k.  Husband receives $24k military retirement.  We both receive an additional VA disability pay of $3k a month (tax free).

We max out our 401k's at $18.5k. We have $100k in cash (in money market at 1.8%), $100k in his military tsp (401k) @10%. Wife 401k has$75k @11%.

Our have prepaid 2 years of university for our kids and we have gifted them my husbands GI bill (36 months split between them two which will cover their last two years).

We only have our house debt of $222k. @ 3.25%

I have been tracking our expenses for about 6 months now. We currently live off of $5k each month.  We are saving $7k a month (literally into a savings account at 1.8% interest rate).

I love my job. I dont want to quit.  But what do you all think?  Do you think that my husband can quit his job now or should we pay the house off first and then he quits?  Our living expenses are $5k a month (and i think there are ways we can save even more) and we get $5k a month between veteran pay and military pay (which increases with inflation).  With me working still....that is just more money we can sock away.

Other odd thing is we know we do not want to stay in this house forever. This house is temporary until the kids finish school (here for the school district only).  Should we bother paying the house off then - knowing in 7 years we will be moving? 

ysette9

• Walrus Stache
Family of four- we can retire...but should we? is it really happening?
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2018, 04:33:03 PM »