Author Topic: Doing it wrong?  (Read 7483 times)

baconschteam

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Doing it wrong?
« on: June 28, 2022, 11:30:04 AM »
Hello, like a lot of people, I'm worried about the stocks, and I'm maybe looking for a little kick in the pants, and maybe I should just stop looking at them. I'm green. This is my first real market downturn.

Background: just married, wife and I have been doing mustachianism for a few years now; got out of debt, built about $150k, saving around 60% of income.

My father passed away a couple of years ago and I inherited about $50k. Like a good mustachian, I upgraded my bicycle a little and followed my investment plan and put it all into index funds in August of 2021.

This market has me freakin'. Feeling like I've done something massively wrong. I know from everything I've read that the market will just go back up, within a few years, just stop looking and keep throwing money in with every paycheck. But, damn, it's making me feel queasy right now.

Adding to this queasy uneasiness is that I've been investing all of my wife's money too, so the weight of "what if I've been wrong, capitalism's endless growth must eventually fail if we are to survive on this planet, and maybe it's finally time" is extra. Also adding to this is that we'd like to buy a house within the next couple of years, so I've begun to hoard some cash, investing less.