Author Topic: Case Study: Ways to optimise? Better retirement planning? (UK)  (Read 2568 times)

KathrinS

• Bristles
    • A Chat with Kat
In light of a brand new UK tax year starting today, I'm posting a case study to get some opinions - generally on my situation and habits, but also specifically in terms of UK retirement planning.

Life Situation:  female, 25, no kids or pets. Currently renting in London.

Gross Salary/Wages: Self employed, so it will vary by year. This tax year was my first full working year, and I made almost exactly £42k. This doesn't include £500 matched betting income.
I work as a German teacher and Pilates instructor.

Other Ordinary Income: About £2-3k holiday gifts from family (I know, they're super generous!) and cash-in-hand income from doing admin for my dad.

Taxes: Not sure yet, but according to the online calculators it will be between £7-8k this year.

Current expenses:

Rent: £815

Bills: I budget £203. It's usually less, never more. Includes: gas/electric - variable, water £15, council tax about £80, internet £19, phone £12, Spotify for work £10.

Food: £60-70 per month

Entertainment: about £220-230 per month. Usually less, but I put a bit of this aside for bigger purchases such as flight tickets or work necessities like workshops or educational materials.

TOTAL: pretty consistently £1300 per month. As I mentioned, if it's less, I put aside more for the larger expenses, so that I can then afford to visit family or take a short trip.

Transport: Prepaid £1600 for a Zone 1-3 yearly card at the beginning of the year. I used my birthday/ Christmas/ working for dad money for this, so am not counting it as part of my monthly budget this year.

Assets:
ISA 1: £1958 - cash ISA, 0.75% interest. I am no longer contributing to this in the new tax year.

ISA 2: a bit over £18500 - Stocks and Shares ISA, mostly in Vanguard LifeStrategy 80 and 100.

HSBC: £1000 in current account.