Author Topic: Case study: another FIRE in Europe, at all possible?  (Read 11147 times)

Imma

• Magnum Stache
Case study: another FIRE in Europe, at all possible?
« on: July 20, 2017, 02:42:55 PM »
Can I ever FIRE and if so, what do I need to do to achieve it?

Life Situation: Cohabiting couple, 27 and 30 years old, no kids. I have suffered with chronic illness since I was 16 which means I'm unable to work full time. I have a Bachelor's degree in law, but to work in the law field you need to have a Master's degree. As parttime jobs in that field are rare, I decided not to pursue a Master's degree just yet. The cost for that would be about EUR 5000 and I probably will have to do a Master's degree at some point, as only having a Bachelor's degree is considered to be 'dropping out' of university. We keep our finances completely separate, so this concerns only me, but he has roughly the same income (but works many more hours a week to earn it) and the same spending pattern.

Gross Salary/Wages: About 1400 EUR / month for 20 hours a week. Monthly wage is 1212, I get one extra month's worth of salary in May and I make about one month's worth of paid overtime every year. I can physically work about 25 hours a week. My pay is low because I work parttime, but I'd make a pretty good living if I'd be able to work fulltime.   

Individual amounts of each Pre-tax deductions 401k, HSA, FSA, IRA, insurance, etc. - whatever you have
This is the point. Our pension system is complicated. There are 3 pillars: