Author Topic: Case Study: 21 yo F with eternal student loans  (Read 3520 times)

wmd8t

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Case Study: 21 yo F with eternal student loans
« on: September 18, 2019, 11:19:50 AM »
[Edit]

Thank you guys so much for your input and advice! :) I appreciate it

Hi all!

Life Situation: I'm a recent grad and have began working in a major city in MA. I have about 70K of student debt, and am looking for financial advice. The catch: I have gained admissions to a(n expensive) graduate program that I am incredibly passionate about (can defer admissions up to 5 years from now). While I know higher education isn't always necessary, this is something that I'd like to prioritize in my life. As such, I'm wondering if I should completely pay off my undergrad loans prior to enrolling and potentially taking on additional loans (or potentially winning scholarships).

Any advice or insights in general on my spending are also welcome :)

Salary: I make $80,000 annually, which after MA taxes and a 3% 401k contribution comes out to $4,800 per month. I remained on my parents health insurance for now to save money.

Current Monthly Expenses
Rent: $1100 (Live with a roommate slightly outside of a very expensive city. Planning to move out at the end of the year to find a place with more roommates and spend around $900 per month)
WiFi and Electricity: $30
Groceries: $50 (Save money by switching to primarily vegetarian diet and using an incredibly cheap farmers market)
Dining out/Drinks: $60 (I succumb to social pressures and feel like I can't say no without coming across cheap)
Personal Care: $60 (Shampoo, haircuts, occasional makeup/hair products)
Clothes: $50 (Still building out a professional wardrobe because I just started work)
Transportation: $30 I currently bike everywhere, but anticipate the need for a commuter pass during the snow-filled winter months ($100 pass x 4 months per year /12 months total)
Misc: $100 (Flights home, Ubers)

Loan Payments and Savings