Author Topic: 50 and burnt out.. ready to FIRE  (Read 3622 times)

jb1331

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
50 and burnt out.. ready to FIRE
« on: July 20, 2019, 07:23:12 PM »
I have been a reader / lurker around here for a long time. My wife and I also have been employing frugality / baddassity long before the blog..

We have not had a car payment for > 20 years. I have been working from home for > 15 years, wife works about 1 mile from the house. We bought our home 20 years ago. This was our first home, but never moved... paid it off in 9 years. We have 2 kids, and our youngest just graduated high school.  Every year I have maxxed out every possible IRA, 401k, HSA for the longest. Everything my wife has made has gone entirely to savings as well. I do > 80% of all my own car repairs and maintenance, and about the same for our home.  We have traveled quite a bit, and our kids have been all over growing up. We did this by opening credit cards, getting the miles and paying for airfare, hotel, etc.. Other times, we drove. The majority of travel expenses were paid for by miles.

The problem is we have been incredible savers, but not great investors.. House is worth about $350k, we have only about $900k of cash and investments, plus some smaller pensions, HSA etc.

I got a promotion a couple of years ago and have not change our lifestyle at all. This year, we have already put back about $60k.. I have a tuition bill and property taxes to pay this fall, but should clear > $80k in savings this year.