Author Topic: Trying to decide if my financial advisor is worth it  (Read 2379 times)

RST

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Trying to decide if my financial advisor is worth it
« on: January 30, 2022, 11:28:54 AM »
I'm not sure how well this post will go over with the DIY crowd, but here goes :-)

First, some background. I graduated from grad school without any debt and started working at a big tech company. I've been there for a little over a decade, diligently saved a substantial portion of my money, and suddenly realized that I have a hefty nest egg at age 35: just shy of $2M.

I first started investing using the Couch Potato approach, eventually sough fee-for-advice from an independent financial advisor (happy to share if allowed), and eventually transitioned to full management with a 1% management fee. I think this drops to 0.5% at $2M AUM, but I need to check.

That management fee is a lot of money. In fact it would be largest annual expense, if I paid the minimum on my mortgage. I'm curious as to what others think about having a financial advisor.

There are a few key benefits in my mind, but I want to hear what others think:
  • Favourable exchange rates. A significant amount of my pay is in USD so this helps quite a bit.
  • Tax efficiency. Between RRSPs, TFSAs, RESPs, unregistered accounts, dividends, and capital gains, there is a lot to learn. Worse, it changes often and getting it wrong can cost a lot, decades down the line. Also it's super boring (not a great reason, but I personally don't want to spend my spare time learning about it and keeping up)
  • Correctness. Early in my DIY financial management, I made a fairly costly error trying to run Norbert's Gambit. With larger assets these types of mistakes are even costlier.
  • Advice on other financial tools. For example HELOCs, estates, trust funds, insurance, wills, etc.