Author Topic: Canadian: Refinancing for $115k, maxing TFSA - then what?  (Read 1837 times)

Healthie

• Stubble
Canadian: Refinancing for $115k, maxing TFSA - then what?
« on: October 28, 2021, 10:47:05 AM »
Edit Nov 9/21: I wrote up something a bit more specific for another forum than my initial post:

Hi everyone,

I'm 30, I make about 85k/year with overtime, I recently refinanced my house and have 115k to invest. I work in healthcare and will get a defined-benefits pension; earliest age is at 55, and I would like to retire at 50. My partner also works in healthcare and will make about the same as I do and receive the same DB pension. We presently have no children, but plan to have 2 within 5 years. We are not married yet. We will be moving to a new city this summer and getting a much more expensive house (bought mine for 200k 3 years ago; next house will likely cost 650k+). We have family that will be financing this, and we will not need a down payment or pay interest on it. We will be paying them something, possibly $2000/month to re-pay it. I may go to 3-4 days a week for periods, and retire later if need be. My car is paid off.  My present investments and questions:

TFSA: $44,894 contributed; mostly in TD-e series indexes, a few grand in AMC. I would like to sell off my E-series investments and buy one all-in-one index with a lower MER. What would you recommend for this? I will be keeping the AMC until it takes off and re-investing when I sell it. My plan is to contact the CRA and confirm exactly how much room I have and max my TFSA out.