Author Topic: Capital Gains Tax  (Read 30620 times)

middo

• Handlebar Stache
  • Learning.
Capital Gains Tax
« on: March 20, 2018, 11:11:11 PM »
OK, so I am fairly new to the idea of capitals gains tax, as historically everything we have sold that could be a CGT asset has been the family home.  But now we are starting to look at selling a rental property, and the capital gains have been very significant.  The property was bought in the early 80's as a family home.  It was rented out from some time in the 90's, and we inherited it around 2010.  As far as I can tell, we will be responsible for the CGT from the time it was rented out first, until today.  The calculation I have come up with works something like:

CGT =  1/2 of:   (sell price - cost price) *  (number of days rented/total number of days from purchase)

Since the purchased price was around 10% of current value, CGT looks like it will take a chunk of value from us.

A couple of questions for the greater (Australian) community, and thank you in advance for any helpful answers and discussion.

Firstly: Is my calculation correct?

Secondly: Do you factor CGT into your net worth calculations if you own rentals or shares?

Gremlin

• Pencil Stache
Re: Capital Gains Tax
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2018, 01:46:04 AM »
There are a number of things that complicate this scenario.  Pre-1985 asset, family home converted to investment, inheritance, any depreciation claimed by you or whoever you inherited from all make this less than 100% straightforward to determine your CG.  I’d seek an opinion from an accountant.

But then if you hold an investment asset for longer than 1 year, you should be entitled to a discount on your Capital Gains of 50% for tax purposes (at least with current legislation- Labor have indicated that they may change this if they win the next election).  At first glance, this halves your CGT liability, but as mentioned above, your circumstances are complicated.