Author Topic: Young, Nursey, and Getting Burnt Out - A Case Study.  (Read 13904 times)

QuirkyNurse

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Young, Nursey, and Getting Burnt Out - A Case Study.
« on: March 03, 2015, 04:40:11 PM »
Background

I graduated with my BSN, RN, and $27,000 of student debt in Dec 2013.

I live on my own in a one-bedroom that is fairly inexpensive for the area (average rent is about $1300 here), and have cut out internet, television, gym memberships, fancy lattes, shopping for shoppings sake, and as much driving as possible. I cook almost every meal, and pack a lunch daily. I cut my own hair, only get library books, and wash my clothing at the laundromat once a month.

I live eight miles from work, and bike commute when the weather is nicer (A road bike doesn’t cut it in negative degree temperatures and several inches of snow.) I foolishly leased a car (three year lease) when my old one died for good. However, I work in emergent surgery and can’t risk an unreliable car when they need me in the middle of the night.

Income

$55k pre-tax, and overtime in varying amount. Take home pay is rough $1500 bi-weekly, sometimes $1800 when I snag overtime. There is almost always on-call shifts and overtime to be picked up, so I could certainly hustle more on the weekends.

Expenses

Rent: $725
Tithe: $460-500 (Tithe is based off of my gross. This is a non-negotiable expense)
Lease Payment: $278/mo
Car Insurance: $165/mo
Utilities: $35
Phone: $110
Groceries: $200
Eating Out: $150
Gas: $45
Misc. (Gifts, Projects, Fees, Clothes) $250
Total: 2418

Student Loans: $500-1000 and any windfalls. I put this separate because after the bills are paid, I put darn near everything I have left towards this to knock it out.

Assets

$4000 in checkings/savings
401k has around $2000 in it, but I’m not sure. My company matches double whatever I put in up to the first 5%, after I have worked here a year. Phew, that’s a mouthful. 5% of my gross is deducted from every paycheck.

Liabilities