Author Topic: Young accountant looking for some career/life advice  (Read 16532 times)

missleo

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Young accountant looking for some career/life advice
« on: April 10, 2016, 06:37:18 PM »
Hi all,

I've been a reader of the site and forums for some time now, and figured it was about time to make my first post! Hoping some of you mustachians may be able to offer some insight on my situation, as I'm feeling a bit lost at this point...

To begin, I'm 22 and have been working in public accounting for a little over 7 months since graduating college. As a student, I was fairly certain that I did not want to go into public accounting, but ended up interviewing and taking a job with a firm that I like quite a bit. However, throughout working there and (almost) surviving my first busy season, it's become even clearer to me that public accounting is not a good fit for me. It's a stressful job, and not a field I can see myself in for years. Furthermore, the expectation once busy season is over is that I will work towards passing the CPA exam, which I am not motivated to do or interested in becoming at all.

My dilemma is this: I make a pretty great salary for my age, allowing me to save a lot toward the goal of FIRE, and I know that I wouldn't be able to get anywhere close to my current salary if I moved to a job outside of public accounting. While the stress of the job and lack of interest in continuing down the public accounting career path are weighing on me, it's so difficult to give up the good pay. That being said, my living expenses are quite low, so even with a lower-paying job I could still manage to save toward FIRE, and I would likely try to drop my expenses down further to keep my savings rate fairly high. However, giving up the career that I essentially spent all of my time in college working toward feels wrong.