Author Topic: You Need a Budget -Software  (Read 11191 times)

joerice01

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
You Need a Budget -Software
« on: February 17, 2012, 10:43:59 PM »
Hello,

Just wondering if any one has used the software YNAB (You Need a Budget).
I just downloaded the 30-day trial but haven't really got into it yet.
Could any one offer some advice if this will work or is practical?

http://www.youneedabudget.com/

Cheers
« Last Edit: February 17, 2012, 10:45:31 PM by joerice01 »

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: You Need a Budget -Software
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2012, 10:50:03 AM »
Haven't used it myself, but I have heard lots of good things.

I use Mint, which is all I need personally.

Try it out yourself for the 30-day trial and see if it's worth it for you.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Stubbleman

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2012, 02:35:18 PM »
We've been using it the past month.  It has helped curtail our spending on frivolities.  We are using it to help reset our spending habits.  It does take some getting used to, as things don't function quite how you would expect. 

I used the free trial to import data from the prior month, look at what we spent and then set a budget for the current month.  As the new habits non-spending set in I'm sure it will fall into disuse, but for now it is helping shine a light on areas where we were spending money that don't provide much value. 

Moneyisntlove

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2012, 03:12:20 PM »