Author Topic: Yoga Teacher Training?  (Read 6793 times)

dragontaco

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Yoga Teacher Training?
« on: October 23, 2015, 06:05:29 PM »
Long time reader, first time poster :)

Hi! I've been reading MMM for almost 2 years, and it was seriously one of the best things to happen to me. I was hoping that my fellow Moustachians might have some advice for me!

I graduated from a relatively prestigious university about a year ago, and am now working in an office making ~$$41,600 (before taxes) a year. I live at home, and plan on moving out when my boyfriend graduated. I save about 2.5k a month ($500 to 401k, 2k to savings for down payment, and whatever is left over after bills go to brokerage).

I've been debating taking a yoga teacher training course for a while now. The one I'm interested in (proximity, teacher, teaching style, etc.) is $3,400. I've always had a side hustle, like baby and housesitting, and I'd love to teach a few classes a week. But, that's a lot of money. I love yoga, and honestly I'd be happy if I just made back the initial investment of the course. I don't plan on this becoming my full-time occupation.

What do you guys think? Good idea, or flagrant waste of money?

RunHappy

• Pencil Stache
Re: Yoga Teacher Training?
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2015, 07:03:28 PM »
How long does it take to become a yoga instructor?  What does being a yoga instructor pay?

I have a friend who teaches various fitness classes, earning anywhere from $15-$25 per class.

Megma

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2015, 09:40:09 PM »
I know three trained yoga teachers and none of them teach, ever. All of them paid several thousand for training like you're considering.

Have you considered the following:
1) is there demand for yoga teachers in the area?