Author Topic: YNAB Users: How do you use it? Some questions about budgeting  (Read 2383 times)

wintertell

• Bristles
YNAB Users: How do you use it? Some questions about budgeting
« on: November 12, 2016, 08:58:18 AM »
When reading through the forum I've discovered that many of us are dedicated YNAB users.

I've been using it for about 18 months and love it!!  However,  I recently switched from aggressive debt payoff to savings mode. I find that the ways I'm using YNAB are changing and so have some questions.

For those that use YNAB, I have some questions (pretty graphics are always welcome!):

1) How do you budget your emergency fund and why do you do it that way?

First things first: I have a one month buffer already.

Beyond that buffer, I've been accumulating the emergency fund in a line item. I also haven't been saving up in my categories, so when I have an overage, I have to draw from that emergency fund line item. Which is physically painful to do : )

The other way I have seen saving for emergency funds in YNAB is to take money out of a e-fund line item, and then to forward fund all of your living expenses for the next couple of months.

Any other ways? How do you do it and why?

2) Do you save up for big expenses in your categories? Why or why not?

As I said above, up until now I've been in aggressive debt pay off mode. I've never saved for items in categories before. I just cash flowed all expenses each month. When I tried to save in categories, I always ended up stripping those categories to apply more funds to debt.

Now, I'm considering building up my savings (in addition to our e-fund) by forward funding categories such as Christmas, car insurance, vacation/travel, pet expenses, etc, in advance. A big reason I'm considering changing this up is that we will be dropping down to 1 income soon.

So how do you do it and why? What line items do you save for in advance?