Author Topic: Yet another career advice thread  (Read 4156 times)

hoyahoyasaxa

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Yet another career advice thread
« on: February 25, 2013, 11:21:14 AM »
Hi folks,

Well, here's my story:  I am a 27-year old, married male living in Queens, NY.  My wife is a museum professional and makes $38,000 per year.  I graduated from Georgetown University (Go Hoyas!) with a degree in government and worked for a few years in DC for a political publication (started at $38k, then moved up to $50k) as a research assistant/office manager before moving to NYC with my wife and working for a campaign consultant in Manhattan as a research analyst (for $47k per year).  It was during the time with the consultant (a firm of about 60 people) that I realized that I hated working inside the campaign world - the people at the particular firm were nasty and demanding, the work was extremely stressful, and I felt like what I was doing was negatively affecting society (I would argue that the nature of the nonstop 2 or 4 year political campaign is why nothing gets done in DC).  Shortly after the election, and after I had put in about a year and a half at the firm, my position was terminated along with several others.  It turns out that this particular firm would hire young analysts a few years out of college with the promise of a career path with the firm, grind them out through the election at relatively low pay compared to the hours they put in and then fire them.