Author Topic: Yearly salary raise - How to negotiate?  (Read 7171 times)

max9505672

• Bristles
Yearly salary raise - How to negotiate?
« on: November 03, 2017, 11:03:25 AM »
Hey!

So in a couple weeks, I'll have my 2017 evaluation with my manager + next year goal agreements followed by the yearly salary raise at the beginning of 2018. I work as a junior mechanical engineer for a big multinational company which most likely has pretty standard salary raise brackets, but I don't know for sure.

I also don't have a lot of experience as I began working there in September 2016. I got a pretty basic raise in January 2017 (2.5%) and since I was a new employee (3 months experience) and this is my first job out of college, I didn't negotiate at all and accepted the offer right off the bat.

Obviously, this time, having a whole additional year of experience, I am expecting a higher percentage. The offer they are going to make will also most likely be based on my evaluation which I don't know the result yet. I do know that my manager and colleagues appreciate my work though, I just haven't seen official numbers proving it yet.

So I am wondering, typically, are people negotiating their yearly increase and more precisely, how? Let's say my evaluation is good, without being incredible, and they offer 4%, what tools do I have for negotiation?

I know for a fact that the average raise for similar jobs and similar experience where I live was 3.9% in 2016 and 3.5% for 2017 (an engineering association runs a survey every year). Let's say they offer more than these numbers, what can I ask for?

Additional information 1: The company has changed the insurance policy starting January 2018 and this will have an negative impact (loss of net money) of 0.6% on my net salary.