Author Topic: WWYD: ER maybe here? and a move?  (Read 3945 times)

ks135ks

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
WWYD: ER maybe here? and a move?
« on: March 03, 2017, 08:25:29 AM »
New poster here... Though I've been reading MMM for a while now.  Struggling with being at the point of FI/ER and looking for advice from the MMM community.  I've been working as a software engineer for 13 years, and have been saving a big portion of my take home pay each year since I started.  To the point now where the last few years have been over 90% with employer 401k contributions.  Recently married, my husband (37) and I (34) are considering of moving from FL to NC (to the point of having an accepted and as of today signed contract on a house).  Between the two of us, I am more of the saver and bringing much more to the table than my husband.  This move would take us within miles of my husband's father & stepmom where he would begin his own business to do handy man work with his dad.  I do not have a job currently in NC.

Some specifics for our scenario:
  • Retirement savings: ~700k combined (650k me, 50k husband)
  • Non retirement savings: ~230k combined (200k me, 5k husband, 25k joint)  <-- about 50% of this is invested in Vanguard; the other 50% is in cash (I know not necessarily best placement ... I'm working on it)
  • House: 230k (I bought and finished mortgage before meeting my husband and own outright)
  • Debt: Husbands car ~3k & his school loan ~9k for a total of roughly 12k
  • Income in FL: 125k me, 60k husband (both with full benefits)
  • Current expenses in FL: ~30k including debt payments
  • Potential incoming in NC: -k me, 30k husband first year, no benefits  (I am looking for potential other incoming sources for me in NC)
  • Potential expenses in NC: ~25-30k
  • Potential house in NC: offer at 160k (would leverage cash position/HELOC to pay in cash)
  • Total Net Worth: ~1.1M