Author Topic: Wow. The results of my first time tracking spending for a month.  (Read 9958 times)

EconDiva

• Handlebar Stache
I made it to April 30th and through 30 DAYS of recording every.single.thing. I spent money on this month!!!!!!!!!!!!! 

I have never done this before in my life.  I tried it two other times, but fell off in the second week both times.  This time I stuck to it, recording every purchase in a little notebook daily. 

Well, I just tallied up everything, and boy has this been an eye opening experience for me.  I knew I had been wasting a lot of money, but WOW.  This wasn't a good month spending-wise because I was way behind on electric bills and had a large one with fees to pay, plus I put a credit on that bill.  I also paid double on my cell phone bill to have a credit for next month.  I had to make a trip to the cleaners to get a bunch of slacks hemmed and cleaned I bought a few months ago. 

The things I learned by doing this include:

-Not planning properly is costing me a lot of money.  I've had times where I've been running late to work and when that happens, I have to take a cab to the train to make it on time. $$$ down the drain.  On one day this month, I missed the train altogether and had to use a Zipcar, which was a whopping $80 for one day (I don't own a car).

-I'm still eating too much of my money.  To be honest, this month wasn't 'too' bad; I've had months where I did just total up restaurant spending and it would be well over $300!  I'm cooking a lot more and eating out less (ironically I just got invited to go out to eat this Saturday :/  It's hard...I gotta get smarter with this!)

-The little things really REALLY add up.....>>>fast>>>.  And convenience costs.  There is a 7 Eleven attached to the building I live in.  So if I'm craving a grapefruit juice, just ran out of milk, or just want a snack, I'm there.  I spent over $80 in that place in just one month.  I had NO CLUE I was giving that place so much money.