Author Topic: Would you work here?  (Read 4152 times)

makstache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Would you work here?
« on: December 29, 2014, 04:47:34 PM »
I am a teacher, and my father in law owns a small business. He allows me to work for him at $17/hr as much or as little as I want, whenever I want during my school breaks. The work is fairly mindless and very low stress.

Sounds great right? Here's the catch. The job is 22 miles away. So...would you work here?
« Last Edit: December 29, 2014, 04:53:16 PM by makstache »

trailrated

• Handlebar Stache
  • a smooth sea never made a skilled sailor
Re: Would you work here?
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2014, 04:55:44 PM »
Could you work there without the family relationship being a problem? How much do you make currently? And last but not least, is there any work you could do remotely?

Future Lazy

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2014, 05:07:30 PM »
Trailrated has it: Can you work remotely?

At $0.51/mi, driving 44 miles would be $22.44 per trip, so it's not profitable to drive that far unless you're working 8+ hours.

Does working at this job increase your teaching skills? If it's just about the money, think long and hard before you choose to accept...

r3dt4rget

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2014, 05:15:04 PM »
I am a teacher, and my father in law owns a small business. He allows me to work for him at $17/hr as much or as little as I want, whenever I want during my school breaks. The work is fairly mindless and very low stress.

Sounds great right? Here's the catch. The job is 22 miles away. So...would you work here?
Commutes aren't a bad thing as long as the return is worth it. From your description, it sounds worth it. It pays well, is low stress, and you can pick how much you want to work. It's not as if you will be driving an hour each way through stop-n-go traffic in your 5 MPG Hummer H2, right?

makstache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2014, 05:50:26 PM »