Author Topic: Would you participate in a consumer survey for $$$?  (Read 3278 times)

Reddleman

• Stubble
Would you participate in a consumer survey for $$$?
« on: May 02, 2016, 02:45:58 PM »
I'm certainly not offering!

I was actually randomly contacted by the "Meadowlands Consumer Center" to participate in a formal survey for $150.  It sounded relatively legit compared to other messages I've gotten- a real person called and left a real 1 min. message, with callback and specific information.

I usually don't give this information out. . . but:

a. $150
b. a chance to throw out the Mustachian ideals and add them to the data set. Dunno what they would do with my responses.  I imagine I'd probably be the outlier and would be disregarded anyway. 

Should take 45min.

Miss Piggy

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Would you participate in a consumer survey for $$$?
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2016, 03:27:57 PM »
I'm a marketing researcher. If the call truly was from Meadowlands Consumer Center, then it's legit. They're a legit marketing research agency. A researcher like me (living in Missouri or elsewhere) would contract with them to do local data collection in NY/NJ, or nationwide data collection for a larger study.

Did they say what the topic was? (Rhetorical question.) $150 is a good amount for a survey. I'm wondering if they contacted you for a consumer study or a study that's related to your profession. Would the survey be over the phone, or do you need to go somewhere to meet with an interviewer in person?

Cassie

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2016, 03:42:59 PM »
I have done them for $. I also was on a 2 day mock jury that paid well.

Kaikou

• Pencil Stache
  • Kermit is like a box of chocolates
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2016, 05:38:04 PM »
Go for it

startingsmall

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2016, 08:42:14 PM »