Author Topic: Would you go back to work?  (Read 4777 times)

Weisass

• Pencil Stache
    • "Deeper In Me Than I"
Would you go back to work?
« on: September 13, 2019, 09:30:48 AM »
Hi all! Trying to get a gut check/potential face punch of reality in the form of checking my assumptions here.

I am almost 36, 4 kids (ages 7 months to 8 years) and currently make 24k/year for 14/hrs a week of work. I’m a pastor, so the job is very flexible and also not subject to federal taxes (housing allowance. It’s a weird pastor loophole). My husband is a tenured professor and makes 130k.

I am primary at home right now but an opportunity has fallen in my lap and I’m torn. It’s a full time job as a pastor, cash salary would end up around 60k, plus benefits and pension (total package is around 100k). So in purely financial terms it feels like a no brainer. In the past, when I was full time we shoveled my pay into the stock market, with the result that we got a killer mortgage when we bought a house two years ago, and currently have around 420k in the stock market. We are still investing now, but it has slowed down a bit (so thank god for compound interest!).

So here’s my issue: the job would Be tons more money, but also 45 hours a week. Which means my three youngest kids would need some form of childcare or aftercare, which would eat up probably 24k/yr. so I still come out ahead, but I wonder: should I do It? Would the extra investment money be worth it? What say you?

zolotiyeruki

• Walrus Stache
Re: Would you go back to work?
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2019, 10:28:28 AM »
Does your husband's job provide health care benefits for the whole family?  If so, then the benefits from the new job may not be as big of a bump up.

You're 36 with $420k in the stock market, which means you'll likely be ready to FIRE well before the pension would supply much income.