Author Topic: Would you change job w/ less pay?  (Read 2752 times)

johnstein

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Would you change job w/ less pay?
« on: January 30, 2015, 02:31:32 PM »
Here is my situation.  I was laid off from a well paying job at a trading shop over a year ago.  Money was great, but the job sucks, I dread waking up at 5:30am in the morning and come home exhausted.  After the laid off, I had few but limited choices, at the end, I took a corporate finance job, pay is 40% less, and overall work life balance is good, avg 50 hours/week.  I have been quite sad about the salary situation, I got my MBA 3 years ago and have a CFA designation, and now making less than what I make before my degree.

Should I look for another job that has a higher pay?  or stay?  My passion is in investments, but there are very few openings in Houston.  I interviewed with one company last year and they told me I am overqualified even when I told them they only have to match my current salary.  I was crushed.

Should I try to go for an entry level job? 

TheMoneyBadger

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • The Money Badgers - Fearless Pursuit of Financial Independence
Re: Would you change job w/ less pay?
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2015, 02:46:09 PM »
Personally, I'd be on the lookout for another job if you're qualified for a higher paying job.  It's not like you need to quit in order to do the job search - the best time to find a new job is while you already have one.  There isn't any harm in looking and being open to new opportunities. 

I would only actually take another job if it was either a) at least as good from a work/life perspective OR b) the increase in pay was enough to compensate you for the decrease in work/life happiness.  If happiness decreases be sure that what you're getting for that decrease (e.g. fewer years working) is worth at least the amount of the decrease. 

MrFrugalChicago

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2015, 02:53:09 PM »
I left trading by choice, goodbye!