Author Topic: Google Certificate - Worth it?  (Read 5173 times)

nexus

• Pencil Stache
Google Certificate - Worth it?
« on: April 19, 2021, 03:22:37 PM »
Hi folks, I wanted to get your take on whether or not it makes sense for me to work towards getting the Data Analytics Google Certification that was recently released.

Some quick stats on it:
> Offered self-paced through Coursera, a subscription service costing $39 (let's say $40) per month.
> Course is estimated to take 240 hours to complete. There may be sections I could test out of and save time. I'd likely just go through them anyway
> Some employers, including Google, are willing to accept this in lieu of a 4 year degree.
> Timeline: My guess is I could commit 8-20 hours per week, equating to 3 to 7 months to complete, costing between $120 and $280.

Factors in my decision making
> I am currently a data analyst for a big bank, and have been working as an analyst for 6+ years now with the same company. This certificate only prepares you for junior or entry level positions.
> My job is relatively secure, and getting this certificate would not encourage me to look for another job, nor would it yield any sort of raise or bonus.
> My main objective is to fill gaps in my knowledge because I was never formally trained in data analytics (didn't go to school for it), and am hoping it could reduce some of my stress or frustration at work via filling some knowledge gaps.
> Skills learned throughout the course might give me more effectiveness or confidence in my job, or at least affirm that what I'm doing is harder than I give it credit for.

Worst case scenarios
> I sign up and already know most of it so I don't get much value out of it
> I sign up and then lose motivation or stop prioritizing it and to complete it

*Maybe a raise or better bonus if it improved my skills enough for anyone to notice, but unlikely nonetheless.

anni

• Stubble
Re: Google Certificate - Worth it?