Author Topic: Would spending money on education for more future earnings be a worthwhile inves  (Read 10523 times)

relivingliver

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
tment?

I have a degree in international business but I currently work as a receptionist at a doctors office for 14 dollars an hour. I think it might be good if I go to school and study accounting, and get a CPA. That will mean another 3 years at school and maybe 20,000 dollars in student loans. Though I hear the earnings potential for CPAs is pretty good.

phred

• Pencil Stache
No!  Why are you not now using your international business degree?  Any ninth grader can be a receptionist.  What happened?

frugaliknowit

• Handlebar Stache
If you want to go the accounting route, take the requisite courses (at least a few) at a local community college.  Do not borrow money for this.

relivingliver

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I'm not sure why I can't find any international business jobs. Actually I do know. I didnt learn anything in college. I never did any internships or extracurriculars, and to make matters worse I taught English in a foreign country for a year further alienating myself from the education. I'm so alienated from that field, I'm not even sure where to look for jobs. Now if I start working my ass off today with my current skill set (limited as it is) where would I be in 3 years? I know I dont have a future in the doctors office, so something has to change

rocksinmyhead

• Handlebar Stache
but you have experience IN a foreign country! that's awesome! maybe you could spin that into something?

phred

• Pencil Stache
contact your alma mater.  The placement office may help you find something -- either a late breaking internship or some job leads.  Experience in a foreign country sounds like a resume boost

MrsPete

• Magnum Stache