Author Topic: Would I be crazy to turn down this job interview?  (Read 5034 times)

Shandi76

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Would I be crazy to turn down this job interview?
« on: March 10, 2012, 10:54:10 AM »
My partner has accepted a job 500 miles away, which starts next month. I work in education, and was planning to see out this academic year before joining him. That means moving without a job, which scares me somewhat since I am not FI. I recently applied for a position at an institution just under 20 miles from the property we are going to be renting, and was surprised to be selected for interview. The post is one step up from what I currently do, and is also in a different department. There is some subject overlap, but not so much that I expected to make the interview shortlist.

The problem is that I have only been given a week's notice of the interview, and it is a long way to travel when my partner has not moved there yet. My educational job has great holidays, but the downside is that I can't get any holidays except at the set times: so I can't take time off to attend the interview. I have never pulled a 'sickie' in my life, and my guess is also that I am not the preferred candidate for the job. In my cover letter I clearly indicated the fortnight I would be available for interview, but they have scheduled them for a couple of weeks before those dates. I would also be setting myself up for a horrible commute if I was offered and accepted the job.