Author Topic: Worth looking for work as a roofer this summer?  (Read 3777 times)

Midwestern Mustachio

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Worth looking for work as a roofer this summer?
« on: April 15, 2020, 12:54:28 PM »
Hey all,

Long time lurker, first time poster.

My wife and I recently bought a house that needs some work. One of the primary projects within the next 2-3 years will be a new roof on our garage/gym/workshop. I'd like to do the work myself.

I'm wondering whether it's a good idea to look for work as a part time roofer this summer. The extra income could pay for home repairs and extra savings.

I currently work full time in manufacturing IT. No real risk of a lay off, but diversifying income would definitely help us sleep at night. My wife is currently between jobs.

Our nest-egg is smallish, but our savings rate is currently 60% (not including mortgage principle). I'm 25 years old. We have no kids. Weekly take home pay (after 401k, taxes, and HSA/healthcare) is about $1000/week.

Does anyone think this might be a good idea? I have no experience in construction, but I thought it might be a good opportunity to make some extra cash while learning a skill that doesn't require me to sit in a chair.

Cranky

• Magnum Stache
Re: Worth looking for work as a roofer this summer?
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2020, 04:59:08 PM »
I think that roofing is not a job I’d want, and it is extremely hot in the summer. Do roofing companies hire part time workers in the summer, which is their busy season.

If you are interested in doing it, it doesn’t hurt to give it a try, I guess. It’s hazardous work.

Fishindude

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2020, 07:44:03 AM »
I think this is a pretty cool idea.   You are young and likely in good health, so why not try something like this, you should have no problem finding such a job.
Might be a nice reprieve to work with your hands and back for a while, and give the mind a rest, get outdoors, away from the office environment, etc.

Dicey