Author Topic: Workplace advice - Annoying coworker I have to work with  (Read 9724 times)

Daisyedwards800

• Bristles
Workplace advice - Annoying coworker I have to work with
« on: February 15, 2016, 04:38:42 PM »
I work in finance/accounting.  I have to work with this woman who is not trained in finance or accounting, who is around 42.  She came from another department.  She has basic Excel skills, but when it comes to figuring out how cells work together, and problem solving, she has limited capabilities at this point.

I was brought in to improve the spreadsheets and processes for reporting.  I created a new spreadsheet to track metrics.  She is using the old method and spreadsheet.  She overcomplicates absolutely everything.  She overthinks everything and writes detailed comments in cells within her spreadsheet.  She even created a new spreadsheet to write sentences upon sentences of commentary in her own short-hand.

I created a spreadsheet that is very complicated when it comes to formulas but super easy to use for data entry.  Right now, we are using both at the same time to see if we get the same results.  I compare to hers and vice versa.  I give her the correct amounts and calculations and she updates her file.  Some of the changes don't make it in because she is not detail oriented enough but it is not my job to check her spreadsheet (I am not her boss) and these metrics are only a small portion of the final product. 

I need to make sure that I am not seen as a checker of her work on the other 60-70% of the work she does for this final product.  I've already had one person hand me something because this crazy woman keeps going around saying "Daisy and I looked into this." I DID NOT look into this, I am merely developing the new spreadsheet template and process.  I am not checking her work, especially on these other metrics that aren't in the new spreadsheet.  She is sort of acting like we are a team on the whole thing.