Author Topic: Working through graduate school?  (Read 2357 times)

rtkaratekid

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Working through graduate school?
« on: March 11, 2018, 03:01:42 PM »
Hey everyone! Long time lurker first time contributor here!

My wife and I have a pretty sweet situation right now. She's the current breadwinner as an accountant, and I am the one still working on my career.

Because this isn't a case study, I'll spare the details on life in general as we feel like we've got a pretty good grasp on things, but questions inevitably arise...

In this case it's about me going to grad school. I have an undergraduate degree in Neuroscience and, while interesting, it doesn't afford great job options unless you continue on to Medical or Graduate school.

After working as a CNA for a year and a half (and hating it the whole time) and shadowing doctors and PAs I decided that healthcare isn't for me. The idea of going into academia and doing research sounded cool till I realized how hard it is to get tenure/get research funded. I met a few professors who even lost their jobs because they lost funding and that about sealed the deal.

So now I've settled on a career/job in data science and am going back to grad school to learn fundamentals of software development and data management/analysis. I'm really stoked on it as I love working with data, always have, and just wasn't aware there was a career that revolved around just working with data!

This is where my question begins...

-The program has a flat rate for tuition, including most of the  course materials (computer, software, etc.): $38k

-I currently work for the University of Utah (where I will be attending school), if I maintain a 75% full time employment status, my tuition will then be half-off, so $19k.

-We have the money saved up to pay the whole tuition out of pocket regardless if it's half off or not. No debt needed! Woot!