Author Topic: Working in advertising and conflicted about it. Advice?  (Read 4652 times)

badgerbadgerbadger

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Working in advertising and conflicted about it. Advice?
« on: June 09, 2016, 12:39:46 PM »
Hi,

I'm a software developer, I work for a company that enables any company to set up an ad campaign. Think AdWords. We are also able to track people around the internet, across websites and even across devices. We usually know everything about them: sex, race, age, income, interests, household size... While we follow the industry's (self established) best practices re privacy and won't run any illegal ads, I feel conflicted.

Advertising things goes against what I believe in, I feel bad influencing people to buy things they can't afford/don't need and further encouraging this spiral of consumerism + debt. Or planting political ideas into people's mind that I don't necessarily agree with. It's also not what I want my contribution to the world to be.

The money is very nice though and definitely above market for my position. If I were to move elsewhere, I'd probably take a 15-20% salary hit.

I'd much rather work for a non-profit or an organization doing good and helping people. I'm under the impression these organizations don't have a lot of money though and that I'd be working below market rates.

Has anyone ever been in a similar situation? What did you do? Is there a directory of ethical, sustainable companies in Canada in need of software engineers?

catccc

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Working in advertising and conflicted about it. Advice?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2016, 01:02:34 PM »
I work for a non-profit and make the best salary I've ever made.  It's not a charitable non-profit, though, it's falls under IRS 501c6 regulations, grouped as Business Leagues, Chambers of Commerce, Real Estate Boards, etc.

So not all non-profits are low on dough.